Meet Michael Rodrigues

State Senator Michael J. Rodrigues (D–Westport), was re-elected as Senator for the First Bristol & Plymouth district in November 2012. His district serves the communities of Westport, Fall River, Freetown, Lakeville, Rochester, Somerset, and Swansea. Senator Rodrigues was appointed Chairman of the Joint Committee on Revenue, and Vice Chairman on the Committee on Public Service. Senator Rodrigues was first elected to the State Senate in November 2010.

Prior to his election to the Massachusetts State Senate he served 14 years as State Representative for the Eighth Bristol District. Throughout his tenure in the House of Representative, he had the great privilege to serve in leadership positions on a number of committees.

Senator Rodrigues graduated from the University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth. He is the President and Treasurer of ABC Floor Covering, Westport, MA. He is a member of the Prince Henry Society, Fall River Chapter; Westport Lions Club; Westport Democratic Town Committee; National Federation of Independent Business; Westport Business to Business; Portuguese American Scholarship Foundation; National Conference of State Legislators and the Portuguese American Leadership Council of the United State (PALCUS).

Serving as a State Legislator he received numerous awards for his dedication and services. These include, but are not limited to: MA Advocate of Mentoring Award; SkillsUSA – Elite Award; Prince Henry Society of MA, Fall River Chapter, Portuguese American of the Year; MA Society for Medical Research -MA Biomedical Research Day Award; MA Sportsman Council-Sportsmen’s Award; MA Association For Families -Lisa Anne Jenkins Legislator of the Year; MA Providers’ Council -Legislator of the Year; and the MA YouthBuild Champion Award. In 2010 he was distinguished by the President of Portugal with the Medal of Prince Henry the Navigator.

Michael Rodrigues and Family



Somerset Town Hall
140 Wood Street
Somerset, MA 02726
(508) 673-8408
Fall River Government Center
1 Gov't Center Fall River, MA 02723
Room 235
(508) 646-0650
Boston State House
Room 213-B
Boston, MA 02133
(617) 722-1114


Home  |  Meet Michael Issues  |  My Legislation District Resources  Contact Us